Elegy for an Undiscovered Species (feat. Ingrid Jensen, Dayna Stephens, Nick Moran & Allison Miller)


Johannes Wallmann’s Elegy for an Undiscovered Species is the pianist’s ninth album and his most ambitious effort to date: a full-length album of new music for jazz quintet and string orchestra. The 19-piece ensemble is fronted by two returning collaborators of Wallmann’s, New York trumpeter Ingrid Jensen and tenor saxophonist Dayna Stephens, and powered by a rhythm tandem of drummer Allison Miller and bassist Nick Moran.

Two years in the making, the album was recorded at the Hamel Music Center in Madison in late February 2020 – just prior to the Covid shut down – and will be released June 25, 2021. ~BandCamp.com

Johannes Wallmann -piano
Ingrid Jensen – trumpet
Dayna Stephens – tenor saxophone, EWI
Allison Miller – drums
Nick Moran – bass

String orchestra: Kaleigh Acord (concert master), Maynie Bradley, Mercedes Cullen (principal), Glen Kuenzi, Chang-En Lu, Anna Luebke, Richard Silvers, Mary Shin, violins; Emma Cifrino, Pedro Oviedo, Rachel Riese (principal), violas; Hannah Kasun, Cole Randolph (principal), Ben Therrell, cellos; Michael Dolan, conductor.

All compositions by Johannes Wallmann, MooseWorks Music, BMI

Pre-order of Elegy for an Undiscovered Species. You get 2 tracks now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC, and more), plus the complete album the moment it’s released.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s